A Brief Guide on Privacy Settings for Facebook

Most of us are already fairly familiar with Facebook privacy settings, but it never hurts to take a second look at stuff like this …

When it comes to social networking these days, privacy is of the utmost importance. Nowadays, the most popular social networking sites are Facebook and Twitter. If you use either of these websites for anything then it is important that you understand the privacy settings fully. If you do not then you are putting yourself at risk of several things happening. The first thing that you are putting yourself at risk of is hackers.

Hackers will do whatever they can to gain access to your personal information. They will stop at nothing, and if you are not using the privacy settings that are available then you are making yourself an easy target. Cyber bullying is another risk. There are so many people out there who have had their information accessed by bullies and posted all over the internet. Of course, nobody wants either of these things to happen to them which is why it is a good idea to make sure that you know exactly how these privacy settings work. Firstly, let’s take a look at Facebook. By logging into your account and clicking on the ‘Privacy Settings’ tab, you will see this page. You can alternatively use this link to go to the privacy page directly.

facebook privacy settings

As you can see, this menu is entirely customizable. If you do not want anyone who is not on your friends list to access any of your information then you can do this from here. If you don’t mind if friends of friends also have access to your profile then this is an option too. For example, if I wanted everyone to be able to see when my birthday is then I would first click on the ‘Customize Settings’ tab. From here, I would enable everyone to see my birthday. It is as simple as that. Let’s take a closer look at each of the different settings that you can edit when it comes to Facebook privacy. Below is the page that you will see when you click on the ‘Customize Settings’ tab.

customize facebook privacy

First of all is the ‘Posts by me’ section. This will include any status updates that you write, any wall posts that you make, or any photos that you upload. Obviously, the most sensible thing to do here is to set this to ‘Friends only’. This is because you do not want people that you do not know getting access to things that you have said, or your personal information or images.
The ‘Bio and Favourite Quotations’ section is up to you whether or not you would like to make this section private. However, it is important to remember that you may be putting private information about yourself in the Bio section which others will be able to see if you do allow this section to be public rather than private.

The ‘Family and Relationships’ section is another one that is best kept private. The reason for this is because if you allow this information to be public then everyone can see members of your family which not everyone would be comfortable with. Of course, it is up to you, but it is best to be on the safe side. The rest of the information in this section of the privacy settings would usually be better if it were set to ‘Friends Only’, because it is all personal information. If you scroll down the page then you will see the information below.

facebook privacy

When it comes to the photos and videos I am tagged in section, there are several options available. For example, if you would like to be notified when somebody tags you and you want to be able to give them permission then you can do this through the ‘Edit Settings’ tab. The commenting section is usually best to be kept as ‘Friends Only’ so that you don’t get random people writing things on your wall. Wall posts by friends is usually OK left as ‘Friends Only’ or ‘Friends of Friends’. All of your contact information should always be kept private, so keep it as ‘Friends Only’. You should never give your contact information to anyone that you do not know in person.

You should remember that when you first sign up for Facebook your privacy settings will be set to default. What this means is that everything on your profile will be set to ‘Everyone’. This means that anyone with access to the internet will be able to see everything that you have on your Facebook profile, including your contact information. This is why it is a good idea to change the settings before you actually start adding information to your profile.


© Zoe Bishop for gHacks Technology News | Latest Tech News, Software And Tutorials, 2011. | Permalink | Add to del.icio.us, digg, facebook, reddit, twitter
Post tags: , ,

Link to Original Content

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.