Posts Tagged ‘safe browsing’

Deceptive Site Ahead – Google to Warn about Fake Buttons

Thursday, February 4th, 2016

Google used to do something similar to this on their search results pages … I wonder why they stopped?

Google announced yesterday an addition to the company’s Safe Browsing technology (Deceptive Site Ahead) that will flag sites with deceptive buttons to users of the company’s Chrome web browser and in other programs that make use of Safe Browsing. Deceptive buttons, either in the form of advertisement displayed on a page or embedded directly on a page by the owner of the site, come in many forms.

(more…)

Firefox’s Malicious Download Checker gets Bypass Option

Tuesday, March 17th, 2015

Although false positives will inevitably continue to be a problem, this still seems like a step in the right direction …

Mozilla implemented Google’s Safe Browsing technology for downloads in Firefox some time ago. The feature checks downloads that you make in the browser using Google to determine if a file is malicious. The browser maintains a local copy of the blocklist and checks the file against that list to verify it. If it is flagged by Google, a blocked message is displayed in the download manager and the download is not saved to the local system.

(more…)

Bypass Firefox’s “Blocked: May Contain a Virus or Spyware” Message

Friday, November 21st, 2014

When I’m warned that a page may contain a virus or spyware, I generally take heed and avoid that page … but what the heck, some folks like to live dangerously I guess.

Google Safe Browsing maintains a list of files, sites and pages that the company has flagged as malicious. The product has been in use in the company’s own Chrome browser for some time and recently implemented in the Firefox web browser as well.

(more…)

Fix Chrome’s Safe Browsing Feature Blocking Some Downloads in the Browser

Tuesday, July 29th, 2014

This sounds like it could either be very helpful or an invitation to trouble … depending on what you’re trying to download.

Google Chrome, Chromium, and probably the majority of web browsers based on it, come with a security module that scans file downloads automatically. The feature, called Safe Browsing by Google, displays a prompt at the bottom of the browser screen that informs you about malicious files that it. In fact, there are two different messages that may be displayed by Safe Browsing. The first reads “This file appears to be malicious. Are you sure you want to continue” while the second reads “[filename] is malicious, and Chrome has blocked it”.

(more…)

How to Prevent Firefox from Sending Downloaded File Information to Google

Monday, July 28th, 2014

Here’s a useful trick for those who are concerned about privacy and/or those who are confident enough in their own existing anti-malware solutions that they don’t see a need to introduce Google into the equation. That said though, this could also get one into a fair amount of trouble if one’s system doesn’t include adequate protection from malware.

Starting with Firefox 32, Mozilla will check file downloads against Google’s application reputation database which is powering Chrome’s Safe Browsing feature since 2012. If you have read the release notes of Firefox 31, you may have noticed the entry “block malware from downloaded files” under What’s New. The integration of the feature in Firefox 31 is the first step in the implementation which will be completed when Firefox 32 is released to the public in six weeks.

(more…)

How to Quickly Check a Domain Using Safe Browsing by Google

Tuesday, July 22nd, 2014

The Safe Browsing feature might not be perfect, but it’s definitely a step in the right direction. I hope other browsers follow the same path …

Web browsers such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox use Google Safe Browsing to protect users before potentially malicious websites are loaded. This works by checking sites against Safe Browsing’s database to find out whether malware was hosted or distributed on the website in a 90 day period. When you visit a flagged site in a browser supporting Safe Browsing, a warning page is displayed to you instead of the website itself.

(more…)

This File Appears to be Malicious – Google Chrome Safe Browsing Protection

Wednesday, April 6th, 2011

More and more companies are integrating stronger anti-virus measures into their browsers, and it’s about time too …

Chrome users on the developer channel or Canary will see download warnings if they try to download a file on a website that matches the list of malicious websites published by Google’s Safe Browsing Api. The warning reads “This file appears to be malicious. Are you sure you want to continue” with options to discard and save. The options may cause quite the confusion among users, and it would probably have been better if Google would have simply added Yes and No buttons to the prompt

(more…)